A UVM student’s take on keeping kosher

In order to better understand the means by which Burlington and UVM as a community addresses the specific religious needs of a kosher diet, I spoke to a UVM junior that practices Judaism and follows a kosher-style diet. In doing so, I was able to better understand the particular obstacles faced by the Jewish community here in following their food tradition. Currently, students at our University that practice kosher are given options  at one dining hall (Simpson) and 6 ‘points’ dining options (Marche, Marketplace, Redstone Market, Northside Cafe, Waterman, and Given Atrium.)

 Untitled

(Courtesy of Jonathon Polson)

My informant for this interview was Jonathon Polson. A junior at the University of Vermont majoring in Film and minoring in Holocaust studies.

Do you keep strictly to a kosher diet?

When I am at home, yes, but when I am at school, no.

Why do you not keep kosher at school?

It is very difficult to keep kosher at school, especially living off campus. It is a little easier at school, but it is not worth it to go all the way to Simpson dining hall just for dinner and eat the only Vermont Kosher stuff that is not as good as what you can make yourself. And on top of that, kosher food in general is much more expensive, especially kosher meat. So it is not really worth it to do it on a budget, it doesn’t make any sense.

How does your living situation while at school affect you keeping kosher?

Living in a household where I would be the only one keeping kosher once again doesn’t make much sense.

Do you feel like UVM and Burlington as a community addresses kosher diets well or could they be doing a better job at addressing the kosher community?

Personally, I don’t think it is addressed at all as a Burlington community. I know there are options [to eat Kosher] within UVM such as Vermont Kosher, but it is not advertised very well.

Do you think the changes by Sodexo to make first-semester, first-years be on a unlimited dining plan will effect those that keep kosher?

Yes, absolutely. Simpson dining hall is also the only place where you can get a kosher meal, everything else is points. I think that this change affects anyone who is religious growing up that kept to a strictly kosher household. It is definitely a turning point for some people who are religious. I know, for example, at Brandeis University it is very explicitly laid out what is kosher and what is not. The dining hall has a kosher section and there is different silverware, so it is definitely more addressed as a community.

What is keeping kosher when you are at home like?

            We redid our kitchen to be a more kosher-style kitchen. My mom got two sets of silverware for meat and dairy, we have two dishwashers (one for meat, one for dairy), and we have a separate set of dishes for Passover. We have one sink, but two separate racks in the sink so two separate dishes don’t actually touch. If I use the wrong utensil my mom will go out and stick it in dirt for three days in order to purify it, then you have to boil it and get it blessed. We have two sets of knives, two sets of dishes to cook with, two sets of measuring equipment, two different cutting boards, different towels, and different oven mitts.

How does this kosher upbringing have affect on your diet?

This has a big affect on my diet. No meal I eat mixes meat and dairy. If we do eat dairy we will have cheese beforehand and then meat after — never at the same time. No milk with dinner. Personally, coming to school and seeing people drink milk with dinner was a bizarre thing and it kind of grossed me out.

I don’t necessarily eat kosher here at UVM, but I eat kosher style. I rarely mix meat and milk, I won’t put cheese on my pasta if I’m having spaghetti and meatballs, and so in that respect kosher style eating has had a large influence on me.

What is your overall experience here at Burlington and at UVM?

            I would say most students that come in from a strict kosher upbringing do try hard to keep kosher style while at school. I know a lot of students go to Shabbat, which is a guaranteed kosher style meal. It is just extremely difficult to be full-fledged kosher here at UVM because the options are limited and you’re going to get the same meal constantly. Who wants to eat the same meal all the time?

Kosher Foods. Sodexo University Dining Services. http://uds.uvm.edu/kosher.html

Polson, J. (2013, Oct. 25) Personal Interview

One thought on “A UVM student’s take on keeping kosher

  1. This is a really interesting look into the experience of keeping kosher at UVM. There seems to be a natural flow to the interview that answers all the questions I thought of while reading previous responses. It is an enlightening read, and I am sure many others do not know this type of experience exists for students. I enjoyed how you kept the structure of the interview, as it is an easy read and gives lots of great information. One thing to just look back is at the formatting, as there are some very very minor spacing inconsistencies. Nice work!

Leave a comment